Our History

Our Congregational History

First Parish Unitarian Universalist-Canton, a Neponset River Unitarian Universalist Community in Massachusetts, is a consolidation of two of the oldest churches in Canton.  This consolidation followed a pattern of increased collaboration among the majority of Unitarian and Universalist congregations across the United States in the mid-20th century and the consolidation of the American Unitarian Association and the Universalist Church of America into the Unitarian Universalist Association in 1961.

First Parish Unitarian

First Parish Unitarian was officially gathered as a separate religious community in 1717. The church sanctuary presently in use was completed in 1825 and a Paul Revere bell hung in the steeple. The Parish Hall was added in 1878 and the chapel and classrooms in 1955.

First Universalist Church

The First Universalist Church began with a series of meetings in 1806 leading to the establishment of the Norfolk Universalist Society several years later. In 1847 a church building was erected, which continued in use for 127 years.

A Shared Future

In 1964 the two congregations began a ten-year period of shared ministry and programs, culminating in their formal union on July 1, 1974.

Historic bell
Ringing the bell

Explore More

Read a detailed history of Canton and First Parish (PDF).

View photographs from the 300th Anniversary, held on October 28 – 29, 2017.

Read “True Tales from Canton’s Past: Paul Revere Bells” an article in the Canton Citizen, written by George Comeau.